2011 National Design Award Winners

A huge congratulations goes out to all the winners of the 2011 National Design Awards, especially our favorites Matthew Carter, Steven Heller and Rick Valicenti!

Lifetime Achievement: Matthew Carter
The Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing an individual who has made a long-term contribution to the practice of design, is presented to Matthew Carter. During the past 50 years, Carter has designed some of the most recognizable typefaces used today. His experience with typographic technologies ranges from hand-cut punches to computer fonts. After a long association with the Linotype companies, he cofounded Bitstream, a digital type foundry, in 1981. He is now a principal of Carter & Cone Type Inc., a foundry that designs and produces original typefaces for the retail font market and for clients, including The New York Times, Boston Globe, Yale University and Microsoft, for which Carter designed the screen fonts Verdana and Georgia. Named a MacArthur Fellow for 2010, he teaches type design at the Yale University School of Art.

Design Mind: Steven Heller
The Design Mind Award recognizes visionary individuals or firms that have affected a shift in design thinking or practice through writing, research and scholarship. The 2011 recipient is Steven Heller. Heller is the author and editor of more than 130 books on graphic design, satiric art and popular culture. Lying at the intersection of editorial design, design history and criticism and design education, Heller’s work has focused on building foundations for exploring and preserving design as a social and cultural force. Heller co-founded several graduate programs at the School of Visual Arts, including the Designer as Author and Entrepreneur MFA program, of which he is also co-chair. He served as art director for 33 years at The New York Times and continues to contribute as a columnist for The New York Times Book Review and other leading publications.

Communication Design: Rick Valicenti
The Communication Design Award, which honors work in graphic or multimedia design, is presented to Rick Valicenti. Valicenti’s graphics bristle with innovation, imagination, curiosity and craft. He has been a leading presence in design as practitioner, educator and mentor. In 1988, he founded Thirst, a Chicago-based design collaborative devoted to art, function and real human presence. In 2006, Valicenti was honored with the AIGA Medal and was included in Cooper-Hewitt’s “National Design Triennial: Design Life Now.” He is the editor of a monograph on Thirst, Emotion as Promotion, whose suggestive title evokes the wit and passion that invariably animate Valicenti’s work.

0 thoughts on “2011 National Design Award Winners

  1. Pingback: Street Artists Nominated for Mainstream National Design Award