2013 National Design Award Winners Announced

In case you missed it, the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum announced the recipients of the 14th annual National Design Awards program on May 9th. This prestigious award honors excellence and innovation across various design disciplines. A jury selected the following winners from nominations submitted by the general public:

07_Wines_ Antilia_7700_0722_JW_FC_300

Lifetime Achievement: James Wines

02_Michael Sorkin_StartingFromZero

Design Mind: Michael Sorkin


Corporate & Institutional Achievement: TED


Architecture Design: Studio Gang Architects


Communication Design: Paula Scher

09_BehnazSarafpour_spring 2004

Fashion Design: Behnaz Sarafpour


Interaction Design: Local Projects


Interior Design: Aidlin Darling Design

10_Ruddick_Miami Bayfront Garden

Landscape Architecture: Margie Ruddick


Product Design: NewDealDesign

All the of the 2013 National Design Award recipients will be honored on  October 17th, at a gala dinner held at Pier Sixty in NYC. The award ceremony is held during National Design Week, which runs from October 12-20th. For more information on the winners and their achievements, check out the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum website.


Client projects aren’t the only ones that win awards. If you’ve created something sexy as part of an in-house project, be sure to enter it in the In-HOWse Design Awards & Competition. Entries must be postmarked no later than June 3rd.

Screen shot 2013-05-17 at 2.17.00 PM