AIGA Announces 2011 Medal Winners

AIGA, the professional association for design, is awarding four design visionaries with the highest honor of the design profession, the AIGA Medal: Ralph Caplan, Elaine Lustig Cohen, Armin Hofmann and Robert Vogele. Each will be presented with the award at Bright Lights: The AIGA Awards on April 19 in New York.

They join a legacy of distinguished design practitioners—including Steve Frykholm, Milton Glaser, John Maeda, Jennifer Morla, Paul Rand and Paula Scher—who have been awarded the AIGA Medal for setting standards of excellence over a lifetime of work or making significant contributions to innovation within the practice of design.

Ralph Caplan, influential author and design advocate, will be honored for turning his discerning eye, deftness with words and wonderful sense of humor toward defining design over half a century through writing, editing and teaching.

Elaine Lustig Cohen, pioneering graphic designer, artist and archivist, will be honored for her body of design work integrating European avant garde and modernist influences into a distinctly American, mid-century manner of typographic communication.

Armin Hofmann, legendary Swiss graphic designer and educator, will be honored for his immeasurable influence on generations of designers, teaching the power and elegance of simplicity and clarity through a timeless aesthetic, always informed by context.

Robert Vogele, ground-breaking design entrepreneur and mentor, will be honored for his work as a business strategist and visionary who nurtured the creative potential of legions of Chicago designers, challenging all to think about design for the greater good.