International Design Awards Winners 2018: Invitations

The HOW International Design Awards has been recognizing excellence on a global scale for 25 years now. Explore winners in the Invitations/Announcements/Greeting Cards category below, and if you want to get your hands on the amazing prizes we’re offering HOW competition winners this year, check out all the open competitions and enter your best work today. We hope to see you at our next trophy ceremony—and in HOW+PRINT’s all-new book (we can’t wait for you to see it)!


Merit Winners in the Invitations/Announcements/Greeting Cards Category

1. Holiday Free Of …

Design Firm/Client Breon, Bellflower, CA; www.breonwatersii.com | Creative Team Breon Waters II, art director/designer/illustrator/copywriter; Tom Trinh, photographer | Printer Papermum Press


2. Saint Louis Art Museum Midnight at the Oasis Invitation

Design Firm Cheree Berry Paper, Saint Louis; www.chereeberrypaper.com | Creative Team Cheree Berry, art director; Mary Kunnath, designer; Lindsey Meglio Nenninger, project manager | Client Saint Louis Art Museum


3. Noir et Blanc Save the Date

Design Firm Firebrick Design, West Hartford, CT; www.firebrickdesign.com | Creative Team Pamela Howard, art director/designer/illustrator | Printer Cannelli Printing Company | Client The Bushnell Center for the Performing Arts


4. Nurses for Newborns Gala Invitation

Design Firm Cheree Berry Paper, Saint Louis; www.chereeberry
paper.com |
Creative Team Cheree Berry, creative director; Megan Irwin, art director; Carmi Cioni, designer/illustrator; Katherine Hollensteiner, project manager; Ann Hubbard, package photography | Client Nurses for Newborns


5. C100 Invitation Suite

Design Firm DMH, Kansas City, MO; www.dmhadv.com | Creative Team Megan Collins, Andrea Corless, art directors/designers; Lindsay Bruno, copywriter; Katie Onofrio, Paul Diamond | Printer Soli Printing | Client Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, C100


6. An Evening at the Avant Garde

Company/Client Ringing College Design Center, Sarasota, FL; www.ringling.edu | Creative Team Lenna Dahlquist, designer


7. Unsolved Mysteries

Design Firm/Client Taylor Design, Stamford, CT; www.taylordesign.com | Creative Team Dan Taylor, creative director/art director; Bria Caso, designer; Cindy Lau, illustrator; Stacy Resnikoff, copywriter | Printer Printech


8. What a Circus/Fame Client Party

Design Firm/Client Fame Retail, Minneapolis; www.fameretail.com | Creative Team Julie Feyerer, VP, creative director; Jen Sheeler, creative director; Nathen Cantwell, senior designer; Stephanie Hynes, photographer | Printer Shapco Printing


9. Social Summit Invitation

Design Firm/Client FleishmanHillard, St. Louis; www.fleishmanhillard.com | Creative Team Julia Milner, group creative director; Kevin Koestner, creative director; Bri Ebenroth, art director; Jack Rozier, copywriter; Sarah Saettele, Jen Hayman, project managers


10. Dixon Wedding Suite

Design Firm Studio Dixon, Columbus, OH; www.studiodixon.co | Creative Team Meredith Dixon, designer/illustrator; Drue Dixon, designer; Vanessa Jean Speckman, patch concept | Printers Clove St. Press, Made by Cooper | Client Meredith and Drue Dixon


11. #TIME

Design Firm Cynda Media Lab, Englewood Cliffs, NJ; www.cyndamedia.com | Creative Team C.J. Yeh, art director; Christie Shin, designer | Client Fashion Institute of Technology


12. Beefsteak Invitation 2017 

Design Firm Ellen Bruss Design, Denver; www.ebd.com | Creative Team Ellen Bruss, Ken Garcia, creative directors; Rose Chenoweth, designer | Client MCA Denver


13. 2017 Louie Awards

Company Hallmark Cards, Kansas City, MO; www.hallmark.com | Creative Team Nicole Hite-Heleniak, art director; Sam Bassett, John Dunne, designers/illustrators; Bill Moses, copywriter | Client Greeting Card Association


14. After Dark Gala Invitation

Design Firm Fifth Letter, Winston-Salem, NC; www.fifth-letter.com | Creative Team Elliot Strunk, art director; Valecia Hopper, Lyn Fonzi, Jan Badger, designers | Client A Brighter Path Foundation